STEP 1: Select a course from the NAVIGATION pane for which you need to change the settings.
STEP 2: Once you have selected your course, go to the ADMINISTRATION pane. In the ADMINISTRATION pane, select Edit Settings.
STEP 3: In the Edit course settings page, you will find all the setting fields where you can customize course various parameters.
Use the links to the left on this page for more more information on each content setting section.
Course Full Name
This is the name of the course. It is displayed as a link on course lists on the Home page, on the Dashboard, and in reports. It is also used in the browser title bar when the course is viewed.
Course Short Name
Many institutions have a shorthand way of referring to a course, such as BP102 or COMMS. Even if you do not already have such a name for your course, create a short name here. It will be used in several places where the long name is not appropriate, such as the NAVIGATION pane.
The site administrator may have created course categories to help teachers and students find their courses easily. Course categories will be reflected in the NAVIGATION pane.
Here you can “hide” your course completely. It will not appear in the list of courses, except for managers, course creators, teachers, and any other users with the view hidden courses capability. Even if students try to access the course URL directly, they will not be allowed to enter.
The hide/show courses capability controls whether a user can hide a course.
Course Start Date
This setting affects the display of logs and the weekly format topic dates.
If you use the Weekly course format, the start date will appear in the first section of the course. For example selecting 27 July will display “27 July – 2 August” in the first section (when default display is selected for that section).
Course End Date
An end date may be specified, although this does not affect students’ access to the course.
Course Enrollment Key
The course enrollment key (also known as course enrollment code), is the ID number of a course. This unique set of numbers is automatically generated when a new course is created. Instructors will need to provide this enrollment key to students who are enrolled in the course. Students need this enrollment key to gain access to the course within the Navigator+.
The summary appears on the course listings page. This field is searched when searching for a course and also appears in the Course/Site description block.
Course Summary Files
An image (and if allowed by the administrator, other file types) may be attached to the course summary. They will be accessible by anyone from outside of the course just like the course name and/or summary. By default, only jpg, gif, and png file types are allowed for course summary files.
A course format refers to the layout of a course. The course format can be selected in Administration > Course administration > Edit settings.
Number of Sections
This option lets you decide the number of sections needed for the course.
This option allows you to decide how the hidden sections in your course are displayed to students. By default, a small area is shown (in collapsed form, usually gray) to indicate where the hidden section is, though they cannot actually see the hidden activities or texts. This is particularly useful in the Weekly format, so that non-class weeks are clear, or if you have quizzes you don’t want your students to see.
TIP: If you choose, these non-available items can be completely hidden, so that students do not even know that sections or an activity in the course are hidden.
The course layout setting determines whether the whole course is displayed on one page or over several pages. The setting currently applies to the topics and weekly core course formats and contributed collapsed topics course format only.
Teachers choose from the drop-down whether they wish to show all sections on one page in the familiar scrolling format, or show one section per page.
If one section per page is selected, the course page is abbreviated to a list of links to individual sections. If an individual section is shown, next and previous sections may be accessed via links above and below the section.
If you force a language in a course, the interface of Moodle in this course will be in this particular language, even if a student has selected a different preferred language in his/her personal profile.
Number of Announcements
The announcements forum, created automatically in the course, has a forced subscription set by default. Only users with appropriate permissions (by default teachers) can post in it.
This setting determines how many recent announcements appear in the latest announcements block.
If an announcements forum is not required in the course, this setting should be set to zero.
Show Gradebook to Students
Here you can decide whether to allow students to see the link to grades in the ADMINISTRATION pane. If your course doesn’t use graded activities, it makes sense to disable this. If grades are used and this link is disabled, students can still see their grade in the assignment or activity itself.
Show Activity Reports
Here you can decide whether to show students their activity reports. Doing so places a load on the server which is why the setting is disabled by default.
Files and Uploads
Maximum Upload Size
This setting determines the largest size of a file that can be uploaded to the course, limited by the site-wide setting set by an administrator. Activity modules also include a maximum upload size setting for further restricting the file size.
Enable Completion Tracking
If enabled, activity completion conditions may be set in the activity settings and/or course completion conditions may be set.
Completion tracking must be enabled for Activity completion. Course completion criteria may also be based upon Activity completion values found in the activity’s settings.
Here you can define the group mode at the course level by a drop-down menu. No groups, Separate groups, and Visible groups are the choices. The selected setting will be the default group mode for all activities defined within that course. The group setting can affect what users see in the participant’s list and who they can interact with in activities.
Force Group Mode
If the group mode is “forced” at a course-level, then this particular group mode will be applied to every activity in that course. This will override any activities that may have a special group setting.
If groupings are enabled, a default grouping for course activities and resources may be set.
Teachers can add course tags like new tags or official tags here. See Using tags on the Moodle user site for more information.
For more about content settings, please visit https://docs.moodle.org/33/en/Course_settings.